Contact Contact

Statement of RTA Board Chairman John S. Gates, Jr.

August 15, 2013

This is a very challenging time for the region’s transit system and the system must be able to continue to provide service and safety to 2 million daily riders.  Though the Metra board can continue to do business with six voting members, if just one more member resigns, becomes ill or otherwise cannot attend a meeting, all business before the board will be stopped.

As we know, Metra is also without a Chairman, who must be appointed by a concurrence of eight Directors.  Should Director Rakestraw resign, the number of Directors would be six, two less than statutorily required to choose a new Chairman. Therefore, the RTA feels it is imperative that the appointing authorities make filling these vacant posts among their highest priorities.

As Chairman of the RTA Board of Directors, I am calling upon the local authorities with statutory responsibility to appoint Directors to the Metra Board of Directors to swiftly to fill the five vacant seats on the Metra Board of Directors.  In this case, this request goes directly to Chairman of the Kane County Board of Directors; the Chairman of the DuPage County Board of Directors; Mayor Rahm Emanuel; the suburban members of the Cook County Board of Directors; and, should Director Stan Rakestraw resign as has reportedly been requested, also to Cook County Board President Toni Preckwinkle.

Press Information

Melissa Meyer

Communications Manager
Copyright © 2024 Regional Transportation Authority. All Rights Reserved.