Contact Contact

RTA Announces New Board Member DeWitte

September 18, 2013

The Regional Transportation Authority (RTA) announces the appointment of Donald P. DeWitte as its newest board member, representing Kane County.  Mr. DeWitte replaces Nabi R. Fakroddin, who resigned from the board in August.

Mr. DeWitte has more than 20 years of municipal and regional administrative experience. He served as alderman in the City of St. Charles from 1993 until he was elected mayor in 2005. He retired from that post in May.

During his tenure as mayor, Mr. DeWitte oversaw several major infrastructure projects in St. Charles, including the largest public works infrastructure project in the city’s history, the Red Gate Bridge, and the redevelopment of the St. Charles Downtown Riverfront Business District.  In 2011, St. Charles was recognized by Family Circle magazine as the “Number One City for Families” in the nation.

Mr. DeWitte currently serves as Vice President of Wine Sergi Insurance, an independent commercial insurance brokerage firm, and is also a partner and designer with Professional Kitchen Designs, a kitchen and bath remodeling firm based in St. Charles.

He has been active in several regional organizations, including serving as president of the MetroWest Council of Government, comprised of mayors and administrators from Kane, Kendall, and DeKalb counties; the DuPage Mayors and Managers Conference; and the Metropolitan Mayors Caucus.

Mr. DeWitte is a lifelong Kane County resident.  Mr. DeWitte attended Elgin Community College and the University of Illinois Springfield (UIS) Leadership Enhancement and Development (LEAD) program, in conjunction with the Illinois Municipal League.


Press Contact

With three transit systems and more than two million riders a day, there is always something interesting going on at the RTA. Get the latest scoop on everything all in one place. For all media inquiries, please contact Susan Massel, Director of Communications and Public Affairs, at 312-913-3256 or at

Press Information

Melissa Meyer

Communications Manager
Copyright © 2024 Regional Transportation Authority. All Rights Reserved.